Throwback Thursday – NYC

So I just got back from NYC. Ok, not just, it was two weeks ago, but we’re speaking relatively.

This was not the first time I’ve been to New York, however. The very first time I went I was 13. I went to perform in a chamber music competition and I wore a lime green tie. Yes, I’ve always been a cool kid.

About four years later I went again, this time it was to look at attending NYU. My father took me in December. I think he wanted me to understand what cold weather was like. Whatever his reasoning, I ended up going to a public university somewhere much, much warmer saving my parents thousands of dollars and myself the risk of becoming a human popsicle.
Now we’re going to fast forward to present day. Between my college visit and now, I’ve gone to NYC a handful of times to visit friends and family so I feel comfortable in saying that, depending on the burrow, sometimes I can actually recognize where I am.

Sometimes I almost feel like a New Yorker!

Well, I thought I did, and then when I went two weeks ago I fell in love.

You know how sometimes you show up in the right place at the right time in your life? Well, when I stepped onto the oppressively hot subway platform on that Friday afternoon, I knew I had found my place.

No matter how sweaty I got, how much I wished I had packed shorts, or how unnecessarily expensive an ice cream cone was, I did not care. I was enthralled. To begin to describe my week in New York wouldn’t do it justice. Therefore, since a picture is worth 1,000 words, this week I will tell you the story of my holiday through my photos. Enjoy!

Heading into a new week and starting a new adventure!

A post shared by Jessi Devenyns (@jessidevenyns) on

When you arrive in the city you must walk regally down one of its great concrete corridors. If you don’t, you haven’t been introduced properly.

New York City Art Exhibit
How very New York. We were introduced to the city by way of this very intriguing art exhibition.
New York City Yankees Game
On a whim we scalped some tickets to see a Yankees game. They were playing the Giants and as a born and bred Cali Girl, I wasn’t going to miss that game for anything (including my terrible sunburn)!

The only place in Brooklyn that isn't packed to the gills. And the food was good too!

A post shared by Jessi Devenyns (@jessidevenyns) on

We ate at a wonderful brunch in Greenpoint, Brooklyn at a place called Enid’s. Although it looks peaceful, they were actually blasting metal music which was a nice accompaniment to my steak and egg salad that I had for brunch.

Touring isn't all about the architecture. Sometimes it's about the good friends that you do it with.

A post shared by Jessi Devenyns (@jessidevenyns) on

Check us out at a massively cool record shop we visited. Apparently, Brooklyn really has regressed to 1986.

New York City Coffee Shop with Bike
And this coffee shop wasn’t bad either. The coffee was, but the decorations made up for it.
New York City Chess Game
I learned how to play chess. Not well, but I can now officially say I know how to move the pieces!
high_res.jpg
We felt fancy eating our high-class gelato and loitering around Trump Tower.
New York City
Loneliness in a big city is easier to come by than you think.
high_res-1.jpg
Sometimes life is just serendipitous. Like when you have frozen hot chocolate at Serendipity.

 

Have you ever been somewhere where you felt like you just belonged? If you have, leave me a comment and tell me your story. I would love to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

