To Travel Light, Just Pack Lipstick

Ok, there are so many reasons that one should travel light. This is one of those ideas that the minimalists out there got so, so right. I’m not saying everyone has to be a minimalist (I’m working on it, but if you saw my shoe collection you would say I’m succeeding poorly). However, in this one instance I would encourage all of you to channel your inner minimalist and pack as light as you can possibly manage.

 

Travel Light.png

Why? Well let me offer you a list of my top 5 reasons behind this claim:

  1. Less time packing.
  2. You won’t have to regularly lift weights in order to carry your luggage when you travel.
  3. You will never have to pay baggage fees ever again.
  4. You have less items that you need to keep track of.
  5. So much more freedom.

“But how will I look cute if something unexpected comes up?” you may ask. “What if they notice I wore the same shirt two days in a row!?”

Ok, ladies there are two answers here.

  1. Just as long as it isn’t a tie-dyed, fringed, one-of-a-kind designer creation, no one is going to notice if you wear the same shirt. Just ask the Europeans. Haven’t you ever wondered why their uniform is tones of grey?
  2. Just pack lipstick.

Let me elaborate on my second claim here so you don’t think I’m just full of it. Looking cute is just as important to me when I pack two shirts as when I have access to my entire closet. I love the sensation of slipping into that perfect outfit and feeling like I’ve transformed into the best version of myself. When you have the perfect outfit on, everything just seems like everything is so much better. So how do I recreate this sensation when you are backpacking across South America and I only have what is literally on my back? I ask myself, “What color lipstick did I pack?”

Lipstick is the fashion world’s best-kept secret. With a fuchsia lip you can make that black shirt sensually svelte. Add a smear of orange while you’re in that same shirt and you are suddenly fashion-forward this fall even if you’re in the middle of the Amazon. Cross my heart and hope to die, lipstick has saved many a travel-fashion emergency. What you can do with a color pallet is as limitless as your imagination. Plus, as a pro tip, lipstick can also make awesome blush, so it is a great 2-for-1 product!

Seriously, imagine your next trip free of baggage. You can skip lightly through the streets concentrating on the beauty that surrounds you rather than the ache in your back. You won’t fret when you get rained on because your favorite pair of shoes just got soaked. When you shed your baggage you shed your worries. It’s an amazing feeling. Try it.

Just don’t forget to pack your lipstick.

Leave a Reply

