Where in the World is Carmen San Diego?

What they say is true: I got married and then disappeared off the face of planet earth.

I became one of those who got so wrapped up in their relationship that they forgot about the rest of the universe that surrounds them! I couldn’t even find a good excuse for my absence if I tried. Perhaps I could blame it on all the effort it took to write thank you cards after opening the packages that were kindly gifted to us.  But, I’d be lying to you if I said that. Seriously, I didn’t even have bridesmaids that needed to be feted. My wedding was so DIY, you would be forgiven for thinking that we spend our lives being crafty – which for the record is so not true. My artistic skills are limited on a good day.

The truth is, after the vows were mumbled, champagne was popped, and I slipped my second-hand wedding dress into its protective sheath, life went right back to normal. The only difference was I now felt obligated to dive head first into learning French.

Yeah, so that’s where I’ve been. Whenever I’m not chest-deep in work, I find myself slogging through French novels or pleading with my teacher not to make me try out some new, and desperately difficult sentence construction. Usually, she doesn’t listen.

So why, you may ask, am I choosing to suffer through learning to express myself in another language? Well, A) because I’m a sort of linguistic masochist and B) I am determined that this is going to earn me my French citizenship. That’s right, I just found out that I now have the opportunity to become a baguette loving Euro citizen.

The only catch is, I have to speak really, really, really good French. Hence my monumental efforts in that department.

And so, to that end, I beg you excuse my sporadic posts and send me all the French learning tools you know of!

Leave a Reply

